The History of St. Croix

1493: Christopher Columbus made his first visit to St. Croix.  Since then, 7 countries have fought for the rights of St. Croix. Colombus called the island "Santa Cruz" but the French renamed it St. Croix. The island was Spanish and King Charles V of Spain declared that all Indians in the islands were enemies and should be eliminated.
The first people who established themselves on St. Croix were the Dutch, followed by the English and the French.

1650: St. Croix became French for a short period of time followed by the Knights of Malta.  In 1665 the French West Indian Company bought St. Croix from the Knights of Malta.

1733: The Danish West Indian Company bought the Island of St Croix from the French and the Danish waisted no time in developing the island into a thriving land of sugar plantations. Denmark sent settlers to their new colony and planned a new town called Christiansted.  The sugar business thrived and the Danes occupied St Croix for almost 200 years.

1803: Danish Governor Peter Von Shulten bravely ended slavery in the Danish West Indies.  Following the freedom of the slaves, the sugar and tobacco economy increasingly declined and on March 31, 1917, Denmark sold the islands (St. Croix, St. Thomas and St. John) to the United States which then renamed the island the US Virgin Islands.







Copyright © 2013 Frederiksted Hotel